James Bullard

About: James Bullard, as president and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis, participates in the Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC) and directs the activities of the Bank’s head office in St. Louis and of its branches in Little Rock, Ark., Louisville, Ky., and Memphis, Tenn.

An economist, Dr. Bullard joined the Bank in 1990. He became president of the St. Louis Fed in 2008. In the wake of the financial crisis, he supported quantitative easing and has been among the Fed “Hawks” calling for raising interest rates since the end of quantitative easing.

Key Relationships: Bullard is an honorary professor of economics at Washington University in St. Louis, where he also sits on the advisory council of the economics department and the advisory boards of the Center for Dynamic Economics and the Wells Fargo Advisors Center for Finance and Accounting Research. He is the chairman of the U.S.A. United Way Board of Trustees and a member of the Worldwide United Way Board of Trustees, the University of Missouri-St. Louis Chancellor's Council and the Greater St. Louis Financial Forum. Bullard also serves on the board of the St. Louis Regional Chamber and on the senior committee of the Central Bank Research Association. In January 2016 he once again became a rotating member of the FOMC, the 12 member body that decides the direction of the economy.

A native of Forest Lake, Minn., Bullard earned his doctorate in economics from Indiana University in Bloomington. He holds Bachelor of Science degrees in economics and in quantitative methods and information systems from St. Cloud State University in St. Cloud, Minn.

Yearly Salary: Bullard earns $281,300 per year, at the low end of the range for the 12 regional bank chairs but still considerably more than Fed chair Janet Yellen ($199,700), whose pay is limited by law.

About The Federal Reserve: The FOMC is the Federal Open Market Committee. They are the 12 member group that governs the direction of monetary policy and decides whether to raise interest rates. They consist of the 7 member Board of Governors, (including the Fed Chair,) appointed by the president to 14 year terms, and five regional Federal Reserve Bank presidents, who rotate annually, except for the president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York who serves continuously.

St. Louis Location: The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis is located downtown at 1 Federal Reserve Bank Plaza.